First post – free scarf pattern!

Ribbed Ribbon-Yarn Scarf                     

                      

Ladder-Ribbon and Trellis yarns, especially the metallic ones, are beautiful & elegant to work with.

This is a simple, long ribbed scarf with fringe at the ends, but because of the beauty of the multi-tonal ribbon-yarn it really works. This scarf is a wardrobe staple as it really adds a bit of a punch to almost any outfit from a dressy outfit to jeans & a tee-shirt. A fave!

Finished size: 2 meters + 6″ fringe at each end

 Needle: US 8 – 5.0 mm

 Yarn: I used Bernat Matrix (now discontinued)

 2 skeins = 280.0 yards (256.0m)

Good substitution would be Eros, Athena or another ladder ribbon or trellis yarn especially one of the metallic ones.

 Gauge:  varies depending on yarn used. Matrix is a sport weight but worsted weight would work just as well.

 Notes:

Cast on 16 stitches on 5mm needles
Knit in K2 x P2 ribbing.
Make as long as you like.
Mine is 2 meters before fringe.
6 inches of fringe added to each end –
Cut 32 -12 inch lengths of yarn
Take 2 -12 inch lengths of yarn, fold in half and with a crochet hook pull through at one edge of the end of the scarf. Then with the hook pull the tails of the strands through the loop. Give it a little tug to secure the fringe. Continue, spacing evenly across each end so that you have 8 fringes across each end of the scarf.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chaya
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 18:43:22

    Very beautiful. Yesterday I found a bagful of Matrix for $3.50 at a local recycling store, and I am making this scarf for a friend in Acid Axis, a gorgeous turquoise/green/gold colourway.

    Reply

    • nean9
      Jul 29, 2011 @ 21:45:32

      I’m so glad you like it. I will be posting better photos of it soon. You really scored on the Matrix yarn and the colourway sounds lovely. I hope you enjoy knitting the scarf. Let me know how it goes. I’d love to see a picture of it when completed. Currently, I am working on a shawl pattern with the Matrix and will post that as soon as I have it finished.

      Reply

  2. Suzanne
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 14:25:51

    I have made several skinny scarves using Matrix, but this is the first one I have tried using a ribbing pattern. I am starting it today. Thank you for the pattern.

    Reply

    • nean9
      Sep 17, 2011 @ 01:15:23

      Hi Suzanne. You are very welcome. Please let me know how your scarf works out. I’d love to see a pic of it. What colourway are you using?

      Reply

  3. amature knitter
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 06:03:42

    Looks very beautiful. I would like to knit a scarf like this. Can you please explain what is “Knit in K2 x P2 ribbing”? Thank you.

    Reply

    • nean9
      Oct 07, 2011 @ 06:45:58

      Thank you. I’m so glad you like it.
      Knit in K2 x P2 ribbing means: *knit 2 stitches, purl 2 stitches, repeat from * to end.
      In the case of this scarf, since there are 16 stitches, you will repeat this row until you have the desired length of scarf.
      I hope this explanation helps. Happy knitting!

      Reply

  4. June
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 12:24:53

    I love this yarn I am making necklaces in different colours for gifts. Next will be scarves. thamks for the pattern.

    Reply

    • nean9
      Nov 12, 2013 @ 15:47:23

      You’re welcome. The necklaces sound interesting. I’d love to see pics. Are you on Ravelry? If so, you can find me there as Neanknits.

      Reply

  5. Carrie Turney
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 20:22:23

    I’m not sure how you knit with this yarn. I have just finished a sashay scarf and you only worked with the top row of the yarn. Is it the same process for this yarn or to you use the yarn as it if were a single yarn?

    Reply

    • nean9
      Jan 15, 2014 @ 04:34:29

      Hi there! Apologies, I just realized that I forgot to respond to your question. The Sashay yarn is used much differently that regular yarns. You use this yarn as you would a “single yarn” as you say. It is much easier to use than it looks and gives a great finished result. Good luck with your project.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

